Today

Someone somewhere is lost today. The bonds of friendship, family, community, have loosened, perhaps broken. Someone is living in a land far from home, in a foreign culture among strange people, and longs for a familiar place, food, smells, sounds. Someone is lost within themselves, not recognizing the person she or he has become. The bonds of identity have slipped, become frayed.

Although we may be lost to each other, and even within ourselves, we are never lost to you, O God. Touch that person today. Wrap the strong cords of your love around your lost child. Restore well being, and lead the lost one home. Amen

6 thoughts on “Today

  1. This is lovely prose. I fully believe that we must find ourselves to truly reach out to others. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I’ll stop back by here tomorrow and poke around a little more. I belong to a UMC myself, but am not currently attending. I run a lot of my thoughts by a friend who is a Baptist preacher, surprisingly he is a bit more liberal religiously than most Methodists! Though personally, I feel it’s really all about personal relationship with Him.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read through this blog. I appreciate your comments. I do look forward to hearing more of what you hold as central to your faith and practice.

      I agree that we do need to be centered in what is good ourselves if we are going to be able to contribute to the well being of others. If we are not, then we are at risk of projecting our shadow side over others, even as we try to do good.

      I also agree that the heart of faith is relational, with God and neighbor.

      I really do hope you get to spend more time here, and share your spiritual center. I also look forward to reading your poetry, and getting your feedback on mine. -Bill

    • Thanks. Will do. I look forward to the whole process. Thanks again (I know I have said this a number of times. But it is still true) for your commtment to this. – Bill

Leave a Reply

