Experiencing God – Burning Bushes

Artist's rendering of Charlton Heston as Moses...

Image via Wikipedia

I still remember seeing Charlton Heston play Moses in The Ten Commandments for the first time. I was ten years old. The scene that captured my heart occurred early in the movie. Moses is tending his sheep near a mountain. He sees a bush glowing with fire, but not being consumed by it. Curious, he walks closer to get a better look. Then he hears a deep melodic voice, the voice of God: “Remove your sandals from your feet for the place upon which you are standing is holy ground.” (Ex. 3:5) Suddenly he is in the very presence of the Holy One of Israel. He removes his sandals, comes forward and kneels before God. That scene fixed itself in my heart and imagination. It excited me. It still does.

Faith clearly is to be expressed in how we live. Ethics is central to any religious system. I love the study of Christian ethics. However, deeper than the ethical expression of our faith is the mystical experience of God. Somehow we experience the reality of God. Somehow we know we have been in the presence of the Holy One. The experience may be gentle or overwhelming. I might be overcome by it in the present moment, or only remember it, looking back at some experience. But it is real. Like Moses, we know we have stood, if only for a moment, on holy ground.

I remember a few experiences in which I was suddenly aware that I was in the presence of the sacred.  I was fifteen and standing at night under the stars at Sunfish Pond. It is a small glacier lake set on the Appalachian Trail above the Delaware Water Gap. The sky was filled with stars and the stars were reflected in the Pond. Suddenly I became aware of another presence. Not separate from me, but somehow filling everything, or perhaps more accurately, everything was alive with this presence. I did not hear a deep melodic voice nor see a burning bush, but I clearly felt words: “All of this is mine. You are mine. Never be afraid. All belongs to me. You belong to me. Be at peace”

I have only had a few experiences like that. Mostly I do not. But those experiences have changed me. Even in my many years as a radical secular humanist determined to deny God and to rid the world of hunger, my experience at Sunfish Pond stayed with me, reminding me that there is more to life than I could see or touch.

I also know that this is not a unique experience. Most people I have talked to have had similar experiences. They may name it differently, claim it differently, but they are aware of moments when they were in touch with something larger, beautiful, even holy.

I like what Rabbi Lawrence Kushner says about this. He says that burning bushes, entrances to the holy, are all around us:  “You do not have to go anywhere to raise yourself. You do not have to become anyone other than yourself to find entrances. You have already been there. You are already everything you need to be. Entrances are everywhere and all the time.” (Lawrence Kushner, Eyes Remade for Wonder: A Lawrence Kushner Reader, Jewish Light Publishing, 1998. 18)

God is not out there and beyond, but is closer to us than our breathing. What happens is that sometimes we wake up. I think that the difference between us ordinary people and the great saints, is that they live much more open to the sacred than we are able to manage. The whole world for them is a burning bush. But when we do wake up, everything changes. Everything is somehow different.

The ethical flows out of the mystical. We do not try to be good. That never works well. Rather we try to live consistent with our experience of God. For me, as a Christian, the fullness of God is found in Christ. The path that I try to walk (laughingly inadequately) is the one I find through him. The path he sets is one of sacrificial love of neighbor and even the enemy.

St. Augustine is said to have asked the question, if God is everywhere, how do we get closer to God? His answer: when we love! Real encounters with God do not call us out of the world, but deeper into it. Faith does not lift us above the struggles of the world, but challenges us to enter into them, even to embrace the suffering of others; there is where the love of God would take us. There is where love most desperately needs to be expressed.

Remember Charlton Heston and the Ten Commandments. From the burning bush, Moses is sent to confront Pharaoh, and to redeem the people of Israel from the slave houses of Egypt.

Part of the mystical experience is a desire to somehow offer ourselves to God. Having tasted something of the goodness of God, there is a natural desire to drink more deeply from the cup of God’s beauty. We may fear the urge, resist the desire, but in our better moments, we know it is there.

St. Ignatius of Loyola expressed this desire in one of his most powerful prayers:

Take, O Lord, and receive my entire liberty,

my memory, my understanding and my whole will ill.

All that I am and all that I possess you have given me.

I surrender it all to you to be disposed of according to Your will.

Give me only Your love and Your grace;

with these I will be rich enough, and will desire nothing more.

(http://www.next-wave.org/apr99/Ignatius-prayer.htm)

One of the great paradoxes of faith, is that when I surrender myself to God I discover that I am enlarged, not diminished. I become more fully myself, not less. As Jesus taught, when we lose ourselves in love of God and as servants of God’s love in this world, we finally find ourselves.

I don’t know why that is true, only that when I am at my best and able to do that (unfortunately, not too often) I discover that it is true.

Then I remember Charlton Heston at the burning bush. Once more I am ten years old and in awe before the Holy.

20 thoughts on “Experiencing God – Burning Bushes

  1. Bill, I don’t know if I’ve ever had a burning bush moment, but I have certainly been aware of God’s presence for as long as I can remember, long before I understood it as being God. And I have felt his silence in my darkest hour when I’ve worn myself out with angry tirades against the crushing depression that I sometimes go through. Are those burning bush moments? Perhaps.

    I can tell I am already going to like it here. Thanks for inviting me, my friend. 🙂

    • Tony, I’m so glad you took the time to stop by, read and comment. Sounds like burning bush experiences to me. I look forward to reading and sharing blog visits with you. – Bill

  2. It seems to me that it’s all about living from sacred space … that same place from which our art derives … only it isn’t ours at all … it comes through us, not from us.

    I absolutely love this post. Thanks, Bill.

  3. Thanks for inviting me to read. Very well said. I have a poem that I wrote based on the burning bush. I’ll get in up on my blog eventually. : ) I’m definitely going to try to keep track of this blog,
    Aloha,
    Trisha

  4. Lovely post. “God” moments are defining moments, not easily forgotten. I’ve had a few. One experience I will never forget is participating in a healing service (not as in that televangilist that used to bang his palm against the forehead and scream ‘heal ye’)…anyway, the presence was so powerful, almost overwhelming that I felt drunk and was swaying…seriously. This happened again at a youth service. There are very few times in a crowd that I feel like that…usually I am alone when I the sacred in things…sorry for the ramble. This probably made no sense but it does in my head!

    • Actually it makes total sense to me. Thank you for sharing those moments with me here. What always amazes me is that when we do share them, we can recognize so much our own experience in them. Across miles. Across cultures. – Bill

  5. Burning bush moments or God moments, they are pretty incredible. I myself have had quite a few of them. Just recently (and I actually posted a poem of the aftermath – Betrayed by Grace) of a loss I went through this summer. But I had gone to a bookstore last month – was checking out some books to buy when a certain title caught my eye, “Betrayed By God”. The Holy Spirit spoke so clearly to me about my tragedy and made it clear that I felt betrayed by God. There in the bookstore I was turning into an emotional basket case. And in the course of four weeks or so God began to show me that no, he had not forgotten about me and in the midst of it all he cared and was going to change specific things in my life. But I got to tell you once the word was spoken by God himself, my outlook began to change even in the midst of the tragedy.

  6. Pastor, I still look at the video I have for many years and it has greatly helped me understood what was going on in the Bible and I love it. Great actors Charleston Heston and Yul Brenner. I absolutely love it.

Leave a Reply

